Posted by: Ocean's Dream | August 14, 2008

Chocolatier


I’m in the process of adding a new class to the game. I’ve done the graphics for them, I just need to set the skills in the database and also set the skill learning pictures in the SkillChart. I have determined 3 skills for our Chocolatey job, the !ChocolateSpell (To be renamed, mostly due to size restrictions), which casts a random spell for no MP, the CandyCane ability, which reduces MP cost by 50%, and the !ChocolateEquipment, which replaces your current equipment with ChocolateWeapon and ChocolateArmor, very strong equipment, but it only lasts a short time. After that, you’re unequipped and vulnerable, until you cast it again.

Here’s how they look:

And here’s a new enemy, the chocolate golem!

Responses

  1. I’m completely unfamiliar with RPG Maker 2003. Does it allow you to heavily customize the battle and skill system for characters or did you have to use a scripting language to modify the engine for your game?

  2. It doesn’t allow you complete freedom. I use it because I started the project with it. RPG Maker XP and RPG Maker VX can do that, they’re more flexible with scripting. They also have 32×32 tile size instead of 16×16.

    They’re both $60 though. I’m thinking of using the XP one once I’m finished with this project.


Leave a Reply

Categories

